College Impressions

Lost_In_Gaming

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Edited By Lost_In_Gaming

So I've been in college for about three weeks now and my overall impression of it is, "Wow.  I thought this would be fun."  To fill you in, I am going to U of Michigan-Dearborn, which is a commuter school.  I am studying to get a major in Computer Information Science (CIS).  I trust that everyone on this site knows what that is.  In short, I want to develop video games. 

I am a freshman, so I understand that there are some core classes/credits that I need to get out of the way.  At the moment, I am taking a Math class, Sociology, Psychology, and Composition.  Math is just easy as hell.  I've got a really nice Composition teacher.  My psych. class is a little boring (and so is the professor) and my sociology class is mildly interesting.  My problem with sociology is that it's a night class and after being there since 10:00 am, I just want to leave. 

So, the overall impression I mentioned earlier, stems from having a terrible schedule and really boring classes.  Plus, making that 30 minute drive 4/7 days a week becomes a huge drag (I do have a carpool). 

My question to you guys is, does it get better?  Is this how it is for everyone when they first start? Should I try finding a place that is closer, instead of still living at home to save money? 

Any advice or stories would be cool.  Thanks =)

Lost_In_Gaming

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#1  Edited By Lost_In_Gaming

So I've been in college for about three weeks now and my overall impression of it is, "Wow.  I thought this would be fun."  To fill you in, I am going to U of Michigan-Dearborn, which is a commuter school.  I am studying to get a major in Computer Information Science (CIS).  I trust that everyone on this site knows what that is.  In short, I want to develop video games.