For any guitar players out there..

ToRo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By ToRo

I'm learning how to play the electric guitar and I need a little help. I'm learning the pentatonic scales and I just can't play the damn things faster. How do you guys do it? (play them faster) It gets really discouraging at times. I've been playing for about two months (about an hour a day) and I still suck at them :(

StaticFalconar

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By StaticFalconar

um, keep playing?

i'm kinda in the same boat as you. Picked up a guitar a while ago, but still not very good (or even decent).

From all i hear though, just keep playing. Your muscles in your fingers are doing the learning here not your brain. This one of those things like riding a bike. Once you fully learn, you never really forget.

The only tip I got that helped (not with scales, but with songs), is to think of stuff in terms of patterns.

Finally, learn some easy 3 chord songs as small rewards. The guitar don't require the classical knowledge of all the pentatonic scales and such, and I've known many (well not true guitarist per se) to get by with just tabs and chords, never even learning how to read music. Yeah they aren't true musicians per se, but they can play the songs they want to play and to them thats all that counts.

Verdugo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#3  Edited By Verdugo

I've been playing guitar for about a year and 2 months, and I can say that although it sounds very boring to hear it:

You have to play it  over and over and over...