The Lumines: Electronic Symphony wiki last edited by FreezyFrog on 11/29/14 03:50PM View full history


Lumines: Electronic Symphony was a launch title for the PlayStation Vita that was developed by Q Entertainment and was published by Ubisoft Entertainment.


The latest version of Lumines keeps the classic formula of Lumines intact while adding new features. Players can now rotate falling blocks with their finger on the front touch screen although, if preferred, a traditional button setup is available. The player's avatar also now comes with special abilities, one set for single-player and another for multiplayer. There is a total of 42 different avatars from which the player can select and 5 different abilities shared between the avatars.

The 5 single-player special abilities are:

  • Chain Reaction - Which changes the next waiting block into a Chain Block
  • Hang Time - Which increases the wait time of the next blocks for a set period of time.
  • Hold the Line - Which stops the Time Line temporarily.
  • Giant Steps - Which changes all 3 waiting blocks into single-color blocks.
  • Instant Remix - Which changes the next waiting block into a Shuffle Block.

The 5 multiplayer abilities are:

  • Invisible Man - Which changes one of your opponent's next waiting blocks into a Transparent Block.
  • The Vortex - Which randomizes your opponent's block rotation direction.
  • Giant Steps - Which has the same effect as single-player.
  • Hang Time - Which has the same effect as single-player.
  • Hold the Line - Which has the same effect as single-player.

In addition, the game now employs an experience system to unlock skins rather than the progression methods of the preceding games. It also uses dynamically-lit 3D models for the blocks instead of 2D sprites.


The developers originally pitched the idea for the game as Daft Punk: Lumines, wanting to reboot the franchise. While Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Horem-Christo were interested in the idea, having already appeared in DJ Hero as playable characters, the duo wanted to create all new material and mixes for the games but were unable to as they were already hard at work on the Tron: Legacy soundtrack and what would eventually become Random Access Memories.


The soundtrack includes a wide selection of licensed songs. Q Entertainment described the soundtrack as a "love letter to electronic music".

The song list is in order of appearance in the main Voyage mode.

  1. "The Future of the Future (Stay Gold)" - Deep Dish feat. Tracey Horn
  2. "Good Girl" - Benny Benassi
  3. "Moistly" - LFO
  4. "4AM" - Kaskade
  5. "In My Arms" - Mylo
  6. "Sunriser (Publicmind Remix)" - Kem Ishii
  7. "Hey Boy Hey Girl" - The Chemical Brothers
  8. "Autumn Love" - SCSI-9
  9. "Disco Infiltrator" - LCD Soundsystem
  10. "Yesterday When I Was Mad (Jam & Spoon Mix)" - Pet Shop Boys
  11. "Windowlicker" - Aphex Twin
  12. "Bang Bang Bang" - Mark Ronson & the Business
  13. "Played-A-Live (The Bongo Song)" - The Safri Duo
  14. "Close (to the Edit)" - Art of Noise
  15. "Embracing the Future" - BT
  16. "Automatons" - Anything Box
  17. "The Sun Rising" - The Beloved
  18. "Pacific 707" - 808 State
  19. "What's Your Number (Jassanova Renumber)" - Ian Pooley
  20. "Flyin' Hi" - Faithless
  21. "Higher State of Consciousness (Deep & Slow Chill Edit)" - Wink
  22. "Wooden Toy" - Amon Tobin
  23. "Superstar" - Aeroplane
  24. "Apollo Throwdown" - The Go! Team
  25. "Celebrate Our Love" - Howard Love
  26. "Kelly Watch the Stars" - Air
  27. "Aganjù" - Bebel Gilberto
  28. "Rocket (Tiesto Remix)" - Goldfrapp
  29. "Wolfgang's 5th Symphony" - Wolfgang Gartner
  30. "Dissolve" - The Chemical Brothers
  31. "Out of the Blue" - System F
  32. "Gouryella" - Gouryella

Also, Orbital's "Never" is used for the credits of the game.


Like all of the PS Vita games, Lumines: Electronic Symphony is offered as a direct download and has a total size 722 MB before downloading any updates.


Lumines Electronic Symphony controversially lacks a Platinum Trophy. In an interview, James Mielke (Producer at Q-Entertainment) explained that this was due to human error. He explained that the team assumed that all retail games automatically had a Platinum Trophy for completing all other Trophy's. In reality, the Trophy has to be manually entered, meaning that Lumines Electronic Symphony shipped without.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.