Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

What causes striped shadows (graphical glitches)?

BBAlpert

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 16

#1  Edited By BBAlpert

I started playing Enslaved: Odyssey to the West on Steam today, but I noticed some weird graphical issues, particularly during cutscenes. My graphics card is a GTX 570. I have a feeling it's a heat problem, as MSI Afterburner was showing temperatures of around 97 C during gameplay (and is showing an idling temperature of 73 C right now...)

So if it is a heat problem as I suspect, do you have any suggestions on how to get it running any cooler? Thanks!

A screenshot of the problem, specifically on the guy's neck and right shoulder
    A screenshot of the problem, specifically on the guy's neck and right shoulder

Avatar image for chumley_marchbanks
    chumley_marchbanks

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 8

@bbalpert: It's nothing to do with heat, so don't worry. I've seen this with other games as well and it's just the result of low resolution shadows or a poor shading implementation. Not much you can do about it I'm afraid.

BBAlpert

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@bbalpert: It's nothing to do with heat, so don't worry. I've seen this with other games as well and it's just the result of low resolution shadows or a poor shading implementation. Not much you can do about it I'm afraid.

Really? Well that's a relief then. Thanks.

ShaggE

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

While that's not an overheat issue, you are running too hot. Do you dust your fans regularly, and vent out to an open area?

BBAlpert

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@shagge said: