Something went wrong. Try again later

    Sonic the Fighters

    Game » consists of 6 releases. Released Jun 23, 1996

    Known as both "Sonic the Fighters" and "Sonic Championship", this arcade spin-off of the Sonic the Hedgehog series pits the blue hedgehog and his friends in a martial arts tournament.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Sonic the Fighters last edited by Nes on 08/31/19 03:38AM View full history


    Sonic Championship (known both in Japan and in later releases as Sonic the Fighters) is a 3D fighting game developed by Sega-AM2 and released by Sega for arcades (running their Sega Model 2 hardware) on June 1996.

    A fighting game spin-off of the Sonic the Hedgehog series, Sonic Championship pits eight characters from the series' universe (including two new ones: Bean the Dynamite and Bark the Polar Bear) in a martial arts tournament to determine who gets to claim the eight Chaos Emeralds (to power Tails's single-seat ship) and stop the plans of Dr. Eggman (who has built a new Death Egg sometime after the events of Sonic & Knuckles).

    A port of the game was included in the 2005 Sonic Gems Collection compilation for the GameCube and PlayStation 2. A high-definition port was released digitally for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 on November 28, 2012, adding online multiplayer and the option to play as both bosses and new hidden character Honey the Cat (who was incomplete and dummied-out in the original version).

    Both Bean and Bark are playable in Fighters Megamix as unlockables.


    The base version of the game features eight playable characters and two unplayable boss characters. While most of these characters have previously appeared in the game series, two of these characters (Bean and Bark) were created for the game.

    The 360 and PS3 versions of the game made the two bosses playable and adds a new hidden character: Honey the Cat.

    In addition, the original version of the game includes incomplete characters that cannot be played or fought under any official circumstance. Along with Honey the Cat, these include characters from the game's cutscenes: Dr. Eggman (suit-less and in a UFO), one of his robot minions, and "Rocket Metal".


    • South Island
    • Flying Carpet
    • Aurora Icefield
    • Mushroom Hill
    • Canyon Cruise
    • Casino Night
    • Dynamite Plant
    • Giant Wing
    • Death Egg's Eye


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.