Something went wrong. Try again later

    Tony Stewart

    Character » appears in 19 games

    A 3 time NASCAR champion, Stewart, nicknamed "Smoke", drives the #14 Office Depot/Mobil 1 Chevrolet for his own team, Stewart-Haas Racing.

    Short summary describing this character.

    No recent wiki edits to this page.

    NASCAR Achievements

    • 3 time Sprint Cup series Champion: 2002, 2005, 2011
    • 2 time Brickyard 400 winner: 2005, 2007
    • 2009 All-Star race winner
    • 3 time Sprint Unlimited winner: 2001, 2002, 2007

    Sprint Cup Statistics

    • Best points finish: 1st (2002, 2005, 2011)
    • First win: 1999 Exide NASCAR Select Batteries 400 - Richmond
    • Last win: 2013 FedEx 400 - Dover
    • Most wins in a season: 6 (2000)
    • Total Sprint Cup wins: 48

    Career and other info

    Celebrating his third title and first as an owner
    Celebrating his third title and first as an owner

    Tony is the only driver to win a championship under the old season-long points format and the current playoff-style chase format. Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte, and Matt Kenseth are the only other drivers who could possibly do this as each has a championship before the chase implementation and are still active full-time drivers. Tony is also the only driver to have won a championship with each of the three major sponsors of the Cup series: he won the "Winston" cup in 2002, the "Nextel" cup in 2005, and the "Sprint" cup in 2011. This is a feat no other driver can accomplish as the three aforementioned Winston Cup champs don't have Nextel cups and the only other two Nextel Cup champs (Kurt Busch & Jimmie Johnson) don't have Winston Cups.

    Tony's 2011 championship marked the first time an owner-driver won the title since Alan Kulwicki did it in 1992.

    Tony drove from 1999-2008 for Joe Gibbs Racing, winning two championships in the #20 Home Depot car. It's speculated the reason he left to form his own team was he was unhappy with JGR's decision to switch from Chevrolet to Toyota starting with the 2008 season.

    Tony also competed in the Indy car series, taking the championship in 1997.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.