inspectorfowler

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By inspectorfowler

Howdy all.

With Elon buying Twitter, firing half the staff as we speak, charging $8 a month for a "verified" check that just means they "verified" your credit card, and Elon making promises that there will be less moderation but that somehow it will be more useful and positive, it's tough for me to justify being on it to follow my various hobbies. That is before we even get to the whole "the more you engage in content the more we'll show it to you" algorithm behavior that means stopping in horror on a story about something that disgusts you means you get more of that content even if you go out of your way to report or avoid it.

I know GB probably can't afford to abandon Twitter for a number of reasons relating to exposure, engagement, etc.

However, would the staff ever consider using a tool like Buffer (I'm not a tech expert, maybe they suck, just using them as an example) to multi-post so I could get my fix of micro-doses of the GB staff on sites like cohost, Mastodon, or CounterSocial?

I do enjoy following the staff on their numerous rants, adventures, and musings outside of the video and audio content, but I also just can't justify having a Twitter account. It's not healthy for me, I would posit it's not healthy for most people, and I doubt this new path will help much with that.

ZombiePie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 19

Related, and I have no idea what the next step should be, but considering every single report from the FCC involves them begging Congress or the White House to outright ban TikTok, I wonder if deplatforming from it would be prudent as well.

Avatar image for inspectorfowler
inspectorfowler

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers