No recent wiki edits to this page.


Mystery Dungeon is a series of roguelikes developed by Chunsoft.


There are four main Mystery Dungeon series. Of the four, only one features original characters created for the series; the others being based upon existing series.

Dragon Quest

The first Mystery Dungeon games were based on the Dragon Quest series and featured Torneko Taloon, a shopkeeper in Dragon Quest IV. A fourth title, Dragon Quest: Shounen Yangus to Fushigo no Dungeon was released in 2006 and featured Yangus, a main character from Dragon Quest VIII.


Shiren the Wanderer (Fuurai no Shiren in Japan)

The second Mystery Dungeon featured original characters, it starred silent protagonist Shiren the Wanderer and his talkative weasel Koppa. Shiren the Wanderer eventually became a sub-series of its own containing numerous sequels, spin-offs, and remakes.





This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.