No recent wiki edits to this page.


Dragon Ball Z: Idainaru Dragon Ball Densetsu (loosely translated to "Dragon Ball Z: The Greatest Legend of Dragon Ball") is a sprite-based 3D sci-fi fighting game developed by both BEC (PS1 version) and TOSE (Saturn version) and published by Bandai for the Sony PlayStation and Sega Saturn in Japan on May 31, 1996. The Saturn version was later released in December 1996 for France (with the title screen renamed to Dragon Ball Z: La Grande Légende des Boules de Cristal) and Spain (under the title Dragon Ball Z: The Legend).

Based on the Dragon Ball series (more specifically the Dragon Ball Z arc), Idainaru Dragon Ball Densetsu is unique as it pits two roaming teams (with up to three fighters each) against each other simultaneously. Along with standard lifebars and energy bars for each fighter, the game features a unique "Power Balance" gauge that swings between both teams (tug-of-war style). When the gauge fills up one way or another, a fighter on the winning team performs a devastating "Meteo Attack".

The game's story takes place throughout most of the Dragon Ball Z storyline, starting with Vegeta's arrival on Earth and ending with the final battle against the evil evolution of Majin Buu. While playing the campaign, players can change their roster at any time and attempt to recreate as much of the original series as possible (giving them a higher "Z Rank").


The game's story mode goes through eight different scenarios based on various points throughout the series:

  1. Vegeta Arc - Player controls Goku, Gohan (young), Piccolo, and Krillin. The fight starts against Nappa, then against Vegeta.
  2. Frieza Arc (pt. 1) - Player controls Goku, Gohan (young), Krillin, and Vegeta. The fight starts against Guldo, then against Recoome, then against both Burter and Jeice (with Captain Ginyu joining them once one of them is defeated).
  3. Frieza Arc (pt. 2) - Player controls Goku, Gohan (young), Piccolo, Krillin, and Vegeta. The fight is against Frieza (final form).
  4. Cell Arc (pt. 1) - Player controls Goku (SSJ), Gohan (young SSJ), Piccolo, Krillin, Trunks (future SSJ), and Vegeta (SSJ). The fight starts against both Android #19 and Android #20, then against Android #17, Android #18 (with Android #16 joining them).
  5. Cell Arc (pt. 2) - Player controls Goku (SSJ), Gohan (young SSJ), Piccolo, Krillin, Trunks (future SSJ), and Vegeta (SSJ). The fight is against Cell (final form) and two Cell Jr.'s.
  6. Buu Arc (pt. 1) - Player controls Goku (SSJ), Gohan (SSJ), Goten (SSJ), Trunks (SSJ), and Vegeta (SSJ). The fight starts against Dabura, with Vegeta soon becoming possessed and joining the enemy team. After Dabura's defeat, Vegeta rejoins the player's team and the fight switches to Majin Buu.
  7. Buu Arc (pt. 2) - Player controls Goku (SSJ Level 3), Piccolo, Goten (SSJ), and Trunks (SSJ). If both Goten and Trunks are fighting, they fuse to form Gotenks (SSJ Level 3). The fight starts against Majin Buu. Once he is defeated, Piccolo is swapped with Gohan ("Mystic" form) and the fight switches to Evil Buu (Super form).
  8. Buu Arc (pt. 3) - Player controls Goku and Vegeta, who immediately fuse to form Vegito (SSJ). The fight starts against Evil Buu (Super form). Once he is defeated, Gogeta defuses and players fight Evil Buu (final form) as Goku (SSJ3) and Vegeta (SSJ). It is possible during this fight for Goku to weaken back to his regular form. If one of the player's characters is defeated, the other character is joined by Majin Buu.

Players are given a "Z Rank" after each scenario, which is determined by how accurate the fight reproduced the anime and manga series. After clearing the campaign, the game unlocks a new mode called SP Battle, which is a series of special battles (both fictional and based on real events in the series), with Player 1 controlling the left side and CPU controlling the right side:

  1. Piccolo vs. Gohan (young)
  2. Nappa vs. Vegeta
  3. Vegeta + Nappa vs. Freeza
  4. Freeza + Captain Ginyu vs. Vegeta + Goku + Nappa
  5. Jeice + Burter vs. Captain Ginyu + Recoome + Guldo
  6. Goku + Jeice vs. Gohan (young) + Vegeta + Krillin
  7. Trunks (future SSJ) vs. Frieza
  8. Piccolo vs. Vegeta (SSJ)
  9. Android #19 + Android #20 vs. Android #17 + Android #18
  10. Android #16 vs. Cell + Cell Jr.
  11. Android #17 + Android #18 vs. Krillin
  12. Piccolo vs. Gohan (young SSJ)
  13. Android #17 + Android #18 vs. Trunks (future SSH(
  14. Goten (SSJ) vs. Gohan (SSJ)
  15. Trunks (SSJ) vs. Vegeta (possessed SSJ)
  16. Piccolo vs. Gohan (SSJ)
  17. Goku (SSJ) + Vegeta (possessed SSJ) vs. Goten (SSJ), Gohan (SSJ), Trunks (SSJ)
  18. Dabura vs. Krillin + Piccolo
  19. Android #18 vs. Goten (SSJ) + Trunks (SSJ)
  20. Majin Buu vs. Piccolo + Vegeta (possessed SSJ)
  21. Piccolo vs. Gohan (Mystic)
  22. Gohan (Mystic) + Gotenks (SSJ Level 3) vs. Vegito (SSJ)
  23. Gohan (young SSJ) and Goten (SSJ) vs. Trunks (future SSJ) and Trunks (SSJ)
  24. Goku vs. Vegeta
  25. Guldo + Cell Jr. + Cell Jr. vs. Gohan (young SSJ) and Gotenks (SSJ Level 3)
  26. Goku (SSJ) + Goten (SSJ) vs. Vegeta (SSJ) and Trunks (SSJ)
  27. Goku (SSJ) + Gohan (young SSJ) vs. Vegeta (SSJ) and Trunks (future SSJ)
  28. Cell + Frieza + Vegeta vs. Gohan (young SSJ), Goku (SSJ), and Piccolo
  29. Majin Buu + Evil Buu (Super form) + Evil Buu (final form) vs. Vegito (SSJ), Gohan (Mystic), and Gotenks (SSJ Level 3)
  30. Goku + Goku (SSJ) + Goku (SSJ Level 3) vs. Vegeta + Vegeta (SSJ) + Vegeta (possessed SSJ)


The game includes 27 playable characters (with some characters having multiple forms, leading to a total of 35 playable characters).

  1. Goku (regular, Super Saiyan, and Super Saiyan Level 3)
  2. Gohan (young, young Super Saiyan, Super Saiyan, and "Mystic")
  3. Goten (Super Saiyan)
  4. Piccolo
  5. Krillin
  6. Vegeta (regular, Super Saiyan, possessed Super Saiyan)
  7. Trunks (Super Saiyan)
  8. Trunks (future timeline Super Saiyan)
  9. Vegito (Super Saiyan)
  10. Gotenks (Super Saiyan Level 3)
  11. Nappa
  12. Captain Ginyu
  13. Jeice
  14. Burter
  15. Recoome
  16. Guldo
  17. Frieza (final form)
  18. Android #19
  19. Android #20
  20. Android #17
  21. Android #18
  22. Android #16
  23. Cell (final form)
  24. Cell Jr.
  25. Dabura
  26. Majin Buu
  27. Evil Buu (Super, final form)

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.