Something went wrong. Try again later

    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Ring of Fates

    Game » consists of 2 releases. Released Mar 11, 2008

    Return to the world of Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles and experience the story of Yuri and Chelinka in this action RPG for the DS.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Ring of Fates last edited by Aruru-san on 12/23/21 05:52PM View full history


    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Ring of Fates is an action RPG released by Square Enix in March 2008 for the Nintendo DS. It is the spiritual successor to 2004's Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles on the GameCube.


    In traditional Final Fantasy style, Ring of Fates is not a direct sequel to the GameCube original. Instead, it is a prequel, set in the same world but focusing on different characters and a different storyline. In Ring of Fates, the plot focuses on a pair of Clavat twins named Yuri and Chelinka.
    The Game also features several hints and references to the original Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles.


    Ring of Fates is an action RPG, similar to Kingdom Hearts (another popular Square Enix franchise). Like most RPGs, the gameplay has three main focuses: visiting towns, exploring dungeons, and engaging in combat. Like its predecessor, Ring of Fates also features a wealth of dedicated multiplayer content.

    The Overworld and Towns

    As with most RPGs, Ring of Fates uses an overworld, commonly referred to as a "world map". While the majority of RPGs feature fully explorable over worlds, Ring of Fates follows the example set by the original Crystal Chronicles and offers an overworld which acts as more of a map. There are several destinations on this map, and rather than physically walking from place to place, the player can simply cycle through the locations using the DS' D-pad and select a town or dungeon using the A button. The game can be saved at any point on the world map by pressing the Y button.

    The town of Rebena Te Ra acts as the central hub for the game's proceedings. Here, players can shop for new weapons, armour, magicite and items before venturing into a dungeon.

    • Items
    Players can find three types of items throughout their adventure,
    1. magicite which acts as a resource to cast magic
    2. Recipes which allow you to craft new weapons and armour whilst at Rebena Te Ra
    3. Materials which are required to craft items from recipes.

    Items are gained by using recipes, each time generating a slightly different item.

    • Multiplayer

    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles Ring of Fates features a unique multiplayer mode that strips the game of its story and cutscenes but adds a unique quest system, this adds up to an excellent multiplayer cooperative experience.

    • Quests

    In multiplayer players can complete quests for rewards, these quests involve the players completing a unique challenge such as defeating all enemies within a time limit ect.
    in these challenge stages, unique power-ups appear such as super jump or invincibility. 


    The soundtrack for Final Fantasy Ring of Fates was composed by Kumi Tanioka, and the soundtrack was released September 17, 2007. 

    FINAL FANTASY CRYSTAL CHRONICLES Ring of Fates Original Soundtrack
    FINAL FANTASY CRYSTAL CHRONICLES Ring of Fates Original Soundtrack

    FINAL FANTASY CRYSTAL CHRONICLES Ring of Fates Original Soundtrack

    Total length: 76:03

    1. Ring of Fates
    2. The Beginning
    3. The World Where We Live
    4. Peaceful Everyday
    5. The Cave in the Hill Behind Our House
    6. Mog's Tutoring
    7. A Duel!
    8. Get the Treasure!
    9. A Moment of Silence
    10. Light of the Crystal
    11. Scenery of the Castle Town
    12. Shopping
    13. Abandoned Town
    14. Teteo's Feelings
    15. Pope Gardes
    16. Picking Moogle Grass
    17. Evil Shadow
    18. With Sadness and Despair
    19. Determination
    20. Courage From Friends
    21. An Important Comrade
    22. The Tainted Forest
    23. The Person Living in the Forest
    24. Rabena Te Ra Castle
    25. A City Resting At the Bottom of the Sea
    26. Reckless Meeth
    27. A Small Vestment
    28. Island of Sinners
    29. Battle
    30. The Underworld
    31. The Caretaker of Souls
    32. Father Possessed
    33. Lela Ciel
    34. The City's Collapse
    35. Existence of the Crystal
    36. Temple of the Crystal
    37. Temple of the Moon
    38. Final Decisive Battle
    39. Destruction of the Ego
    40. Crystal Record
    41. Bonds
    42. The Place I've Longed For
    43. Welcome Back... I'm Home
    44. Finale
    45. Character Making
    46. Quest Together! No. 1
    47. Level Up
    48. Game Over
    49. Quest Together! No. 2
    50. Prize Contest
    51. Race Start!
    52. The Race and the Royal Balcony
    53. Race Victory
    54. Race... Defeat
    55. A Moogle Outing
    56. RoF Medley
    57. Memories of the Ring of Fates

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.