D.I.C.E. Awards last edited by Marino on 04/22/21 11:53AM View full history


A D.I.C.E. Award
A D.I.C.E. Award

The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences, beginning in 1992, was originally intended as a means to encourage game developers to involve Hollywood actors in their projects. In 1994, the AIAS produced the first ever televised awards show for computer games, Cybermania '94. The event took place at Universal Studios, was shown on TBS, and was hosted by Leslie Nielsen and Jonathan Taylor Thomas. The following year's show took to a new medium by being shown only online. It was quickly clear that a third event would not be profitable, the AIAS was sold off.

In 1996, the "new" AIAS was founded by Marc Teren, Denise Kristie, and Andrew Zucker. Under this new leadership, the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences grew into an organization with nearly 500 members. The company's logo has remained the same since the original incarnation. The "Cybermania" name was replaced in favor of the classier "Interactive Achievement Awards," but the design of the award itself remained unchanged.

The inaugural Interactive Achievement Awards were presented during E3 1998 in Atlanta, GA. The show remained a part of E3 for only three years before being held every February during the annual D.I.C.E. Summit, which is also run by the AIAS. These awards are widely considered the most prestigious in the gaming industry.

In 2013, for the 16th annual awards, the name was changed once again from Interactive Achievement Awards to D.I.C.E. Awards. The show had become commonly referred to as the D.I.C.E. awards in recent years, so the AIAS decided to just call it that from then on.

Events & Games of the Year

Each year's complete list of categories and winners are listed individually on their own pages, which can be found below.

YearDate HeldLocationHostGame of the Year
2021April 22N/AGreg Miller, Jessica Chobot, Kahlief AdamsHades
2020Feb 13Aria Convention Center - Las Vegas, NVGreg Miller & Jessica ChobotUntitled Goose Game
2019Feb 13Aria Convention Center - Las Vegas, NVGreg Miller & Jessica ChobotGod of War
2018Feb 22The Mandalay Bay Convention Center - Las Vegas, NVGreg Miller & Jessica ChobotThe Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
2017Feb 23The Mandalay Bay Convention Center - Las Vegas, NVGreg Miller & Jessica ChobotOverwatch
2016Feb 18The Mandalay Bay Convention Center - Las Vegas, NVPete HolmesFallout 4
2015Feb 5Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVPete HolmesDragon Age: Inquisition
2014Feb 6Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVFelicia Day & Freddie WongThe Last of Us
2013Feb 7Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVChris HardwickJourney
2012Feb 9Red Rock Resort - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
2011Feb 10Red Rock Resort - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrMass Effect 2
2010Feb 18Red Rock Resort - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrUncharted 2: Among Thieves
2009Feb 19Red Rock Resort - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrLittleBigPlanet
2008Feb 7Red Rock Resort - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
2007Feb 8Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrGears of War
2006Feb 9Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVJay MohrGod of War
2005Feb 1Green Valley Ranch Resort - Las Vegas, NVCory Rouse &
Kurt Scholler
Half-Life 2
2004March 4Palms Casino Resort - Las Vegas, NVDiane MizotaCall of Duty
2003Feb 27Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVDave FoleyBattlefield 1942
2002Feb 28Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NVPatton OswaltHalo: Combat Evolved
2001March 22Polly Esther's - San Jose, CAMartin LewisDiablo II
2000May 11Regal Biltmore Hotel - Los Angeles, CAMartin ShortThe Sims
1999May 13Hard Rock Hotel - Las Vegas, NV-The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
1998May 28Georgia World Congress Center - Atlanta, GA-GoldenEye 007

Board of Directors

Ted Price - Vice Chairman
Ted Price - Vice Chairman

The board consists of many industry leaders from major publishers and developers.

Hall of Fame

Tim Sweeney
Tim Sweeney

Since the third annual Interactive Achievement Awards, the AIAS has honored revolutionary and innovative figures in the industry with an induction into the Hall of Fame.

Lifetime Achievement Award

John Carmack
John Carmack

Since the eleventh annual awards show, the AIAS has presented special individuals with an award to specifically honor their contributions throughout an entire career.

Pioneer Award

Bill Budge
Bill Budge

Beginning in 2011 with the 14th annual awards show, the Academy has presented certain individuals with this award to honor the greatest innovators in the history of the industry.

Technical Impact Award

  • 2016 - Microsoft Visual Basic
  • 2015 - The Apple App Store

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.