No recent wiki edits to this page.

Home of the Hylians, Hyrule is the land where most Legend of Zelda games take place. It is commonly known as the ''Kingdom of Hyrule'' and houses the ''Royal Family of Hyrule''.

Hyrule Field as seen in Twilight Princess
Hyrule Field as seen in Twilight Princess

In most legends Hyrule is believed to have been formed by three Goddesses: Din, Nayru, and Farore who created physical geography, laws, and life, respectively. Once their work was done they departed to the heavens leaving behind a golden relic known as the Triforce, which contains all their powers. The place where the Goddesses left Hyrule would eventually be known as ''The Sacred Realm''.

Hyrule plays host to some of the most well-known locations in Zelda games such as Lake Hylia, Death Mountain, Lon Lon Ranch, Lost Woods and so on. Naturally, some of the most popular races also reside here, like the Hylians, the Gerudos, the Gorons and the Zoras. Some of the later races were also found to reside in Zelda locations outside of Hyrule.

Throughout Link's adventure in The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, Hyrule is refered to as The Surface by the inhabitants of Skyloft, the land above Hyrule.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.