Could ever a fighting game story be good?

• 53 results
AngelN7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 4

#1  Edited By AngelN7

While recently playing Blazblue  "something something" for the PSP I found out that the game has this elaborate storyline you get the regular arcade mode short story but also a separate story mode , you even get little intro scenes before some of the fights with dialog and all , it dosn´t matter at the end of the talk you just fight 2 rounds like always , I moslty skipped those bits of dialog I didn´t find them interesting or funny enough to care , even for me a semi-casual fighting game fan who needs that sort of stuff (extra modes and such) in figthing games because Im not that good at them but at timesI can´t find myself really enjoying most them just to name a few examples. 

There is Street Fighter that has this continuing storyline you know Ryu cuts Sagat in the first SF , then everybody vs  Bison in SFII, the alfa games are the highschool version of SF and SFIII is the last one? but after SFII comes SFIV? , yeah Street Fighter stotylines consist on a little text telling what that fighter is doing in the tournament and at the end you get a little scene the usual cheesy campy stuff that dosn´t harm anybody and you care just a bit.

Then you got Tekken in what appears to be the craziest of them all , but paying atention there´s actually a storyline with the whole Mishima clan so is not just the goofy stuff , but a goofy story . Soul Calibur is even worse, in IV you get parragraphs of text explaining events that Im gonna guess very few cared about, the series has the theme of the burning souls and a serious tone about it but then Joda and Friggin Spawn start interacting with the other characters, it comes out as stupid cheesy wich is the worst kind of cheesy.