Something went wrong. Try again later

    The King of Fighters XV

    Game » consists of 12 releases. Released Feb 14, 2022

    The fifteenth main line entry in The King of Fighters franchise.

    Short summary describing this game.

    The King of Fighters XV last edited by Nes on 01/01/24 12:31PM View full history


    The King of Fighters XV (also stylized as KOF XV) is a 2.5D tag-team fighting game developed and published by SNK for the PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation 4, and PC on February 17, 2022.

    The fifteenth main installment of the King of Fighters series (and the sequel to The King of Fighters XIV), The King of Fighters XV builds on the predecessor's switch to 3D rendering with 2D gameplay with new cel-shading (reminiscent of their recent fighting game Samurai Shodown), new game mechanics (including the "Shatter Strike" counter-attack and a revamped MAX Mode), a new game mode ("Draft VS", where each player takes turns choosing characters and cannot choose the same one) and various roster changes. Cross-platform multiplayer was later added on June 2023.

    The game's story continues the series' fourth major story arc, as the defeat of the mysterious entity known as "Verse" causes souls trapped inside it to release and become resurrected throughout the world, including former protagonist Ash Crimson (whose death formed the entity) and the antagonistic being Orochi (which is quickly sealed by the three "sacred treasures" Chizuru, Kyo, and Iori). A new King of Fighters tournament is held, with yet another mysterious sponsor and yet another mysterious calamity.


    The game includes 39 playable characters at launch, split into 13 teams, with additional characters as DLC. Out of the 58 characters from the previous game, only 26 return to this installment (with 7 additional ones returning as DLC, as of the Fighter Pass). Returning from earlier entries in the series include Chizuru, Ash, Elisabeth, K9999 (as "Khronen"), Yashiro, Shermie, Chris, Gato, B. Jenet, Shingo, Duo Lon, Hinako, Rugal, and Goenitz.

    The game's unplayable boss characters are Re Verse (sub-boss) and Otoma=Raga (final boss).

    Base Game

    Team Hero

    Team Rival

    Team Sacred Treasures

    Team Ash

    Team K'

    Team Fatal Fury

    Team Art of Fighting

    Team Orochi

    Team Super Heroine

    Team Ikari

    Team G.A.W. (Galaxy Anton Wrestling)

    Team Secret Agent

    Team Khronen

    Bosses (non-playable)

    Post-Release DLC

    Team Pass 1

    Team Garou [DLC 1, released on March 17, 2022]

    Team South Town [DLC 2, released on May 17, 2022]

    Team Pass 2

    Team Awakened Orochi [DLC 3, released on August 8, 2022]

    Team Samurai [DLC 4, released on October 4, 2022]

    All three are guest characters from the Samurai Shodown series, with Nakoruru previously appearing in The King of Fighters XIV.

    Fighter Pass

    Unlike the Team Pass characters, each of these are Single Entry characters and can be purchased separately or as a full pack.

    Post-Release Single Entry

    These fighters were added for free post-release, and are not tied to any team.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.