The E3 2011 wiki last edited by Marino on 05/10/14 10:05PM View full history

Giant Bomb @ E3 '11

Preparation

Day 00

Day 01

Day 02

Day 03

Interviews

Press Conferences

Links to archives of all the press conferences can be found here.

Konami

June 2, 2011 - 5:00 PM PDT / 12:00 PM GMT (Pre-Recorded)

Shinji Hirano introduces Konami's lineup.

Microsoft

June 6, 2011 - 9:30 AM PDT / 4:30 PM GMT

Microsoft Press Conference

Electronic Arts

June 6, 2011 - 12:30 PM PDT / 7:30 PM GMT

Ubisoft

June 6, 2011 - 2:30 PM PDT / 9:30 PM GMT

Sony

June 6, 2011 - 5:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM GMT (June 7)

Sony Press Conference

Nintendo

June 7, 2011 - 9:00 AM PDT / 4:00 PM GMT

Nintendo Press Conference

Game Critics Awards

The Game Critics Awards are decided by an independent group of North American media outlets. They have selected the most promising games of each Electronic Entertainment Expo since 1998, and have thus become recognized as the most respected "Best of" awards that come out of the annual show. Games qualify for nomination by having hands-on playable versions of the game at the show.

Nominees for the 2011 Game Critics Awards were announced on June 21.

BioShock Infinite and Batman: Arkham City led the game nominations with four each, while EA and Sony led all companies nominated with fourteen.

BEST OF SHOW

BioShock Infinite

BioShock Infinite - Irrational Games / 2K Games

BEST ORIGINAL GAME

BioShock Infinite - Irrational Games / 2K Games

BEST CONSOLE GAME

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Bethesda Game Studios / Bethesda

BEST HANDHELD / MOBILE GAME

Sound Shapes - Queasy Games / SCEA

BEST PC GAME

BioShock Infinite - Irrational Games / 2K Games

BEST HARDWARE

PlayStation Vita - Sony Computer Entertainment

BEST ACTION GAME

Battlefield 3 - DICE / Electronic Arts

BEST ACTION / ADVENTURE GAME

BioShock Infinite - Irrational Games / 2K Games

BEST DOWNLOADABLE GAME

Bastion - Supergiant Games / WB Games

BEST FIGHTING GAME

Street FIghter X Tekken - Capcom / Capcom

BEST MOTION SIMULATION GAME

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword - Nintendo EAD / Nintendo

BEST ONLINE MULTIPLAYER GAME

Battlefield 3 - DICE / Electronic Arts

BEST RACING GAME

Forza Motorsport 4 - Turn 10 Studios / Microsoft Studios

BEST ROLE PLAYING GAME

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Bethesda Game Studios / Bethesda

BEST SOCIAL / CASUAL GAME

Sound Shapes - Queasy Games / SCEA

BEST SPORTS GAME

FIFA 12 - EA Canada / Electronic Arts

BEST STRATEGY GAME

From Dust - Ubisoft Montpellier / Ubisoft

Exhibitors

Over 200 exhibitors are set to converge on the Los Angeles Convention Center for the seventeenth annual E3.

  • O-Games Inc.
  • OnLive, Inc.
  • Optoma Technology, Inc.
  • Orbotix Inc.
  • Ozhill Studio
  • Video Game Voters Network
  • Virtuos
  • Voxler

Venue

West Hall (left) and Staples Center (right)
  • This may be the last E3 held in the Los Angeles Convention Center (LACC) for a couple years. AEG Worldwide, the company that owns the Staples Center, which is located right next to the LACC, is currently in negotiations with the city of Los Angeles to build a brand new stadium in downtown. The current plan would be to tear down West Hall, which is traditionally where Nintendo and Sony's massive booths are held. West Hall is the oldest portion of the LACC. Once removed, AEG proposes building a multipurpose, $800 million, 75,000 seat stadium in its place. The new stadium's main purpose would be to bring the NFL back to the city for the first time since 1995, but could also be used for other sporting events, concerts, and conventions such as E3. AEG's CEO Tim Leiweke expects a deal to be approved by the city in early 2011 and the stadium to be completed in time for the 2015 NFL season and Super Bowl L. Depending upon how quickly construction begins, E3 may need a new home between 2012 and 2015.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.